The No-No’s of Website Promotion @ the Marcshoret Conference

Today was a pretty busy day for me. In fact, the last few days have been rather mad …

It all started on Wednesday evening, when I received an urgent call, asking me to speak at the Marcshoret conference on Sunday, since one of the overseas speakers had pulled out at the last minute.

With just Thursday and Friday to think of something to talk about, and to prepare a professional 1-hour talk, I wasn’t sure. There was this small thing called “client work“, together with preparing for Shabbat (and guests!) that also had to be done in the same timeframe.

In the end I said to myself “what the heck, you’ll be sorry if you don’t”, so I did 🙂

The conference took place in Binyanei Hauma, and was attended by more than 100 Marketing professionals of all types, from freelancers all the way to Marcom managers of large hi-tech companies.

5 vendors of marketing-related services were also on-site, and were in fact given a short slot at the opening session to talk about their wares. I thought that was a pretty good idea, since one thing I absolutely can’t stand is when Vendors (even if they are sponsors) are given the slot for keynote speeches.

I had the choice of 1st session or the one after lunch. Which do you think I chose?

The cool thing about being first (apart from the fact that you can then relax and enjoy the rest of the conference) is that if you’re interesting, you find that later speakers quote you! It’s never happened to me before, but I rather liked the feeling 🙂

My talk was on “The No-No’s of Web Promotion(DZ – this is a pdf of the presentation which will automatically open in a new window), and was greatly helped by Vincent Flander’s reviews of really badly designed websites, www.webpagesthatsuck.com.

I enjoyed preparing the talk, and I even enjoyed giving it! From the feedbacks, I think that the audience enjoyed it too, and even some of the more seasoned marketers learnt something new.

Apart from my presentation, I also went to listen to Irit Avidor, talking about “Strategies, Tips and Examples for Finding Business Information on the Internet”, and Joan Weinberg, whose talk was entitled “Public Relations 101: What it Takes to Succeed”, but was actually more of a discussion touching on all sort of topics about PR, like “DIY PR” (for the small business), Changing your PR company (for larger businesses who already have a PR company they work with), what should be in a Press Release, and lots more.

Joan was a lot of fun (and she was great PR for me too – recounting the story I told her about how I started thinking of my Brand, and showing my business card to the audience and the camera !!), but she really had so much to say, and didn’t manage to get through most of it, which was a shame.

There was ample time for networking, more than enough (good) food, and the WritePoint team who organized the whole thing get a big hand-clap – well done. They get a special kuddos for arranging to have all the presentations videotaped, and for getting all the videos synchronized with the presentations, and put up on the internet (hopefully soon) – I’ll let you know when they’re up.

I’d really like to get feedback on my presentation, in the comments, if you can work it out without the video part – let me just give you a hint that it includes lots of screenshots of REALLY BAD websites …. !!

Share with friends:

 Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing to my RSS Feed, to keep up with all future updates

 

8 responses to “The No-No’s of Website Promotion @ the Marcshoret Conference

  1. Debi – you gave a great presentation. Engaging and interesting, full of useful information. You kept things rolling and kept the audience with you. I learned some neat things, and I was reinforced in some other stuff I know. Some of what you spoke about is as relevant for on-line help (and really any writing) as it is for web business.

    It was a great start to what turned out to be a very good day. Thanks!

  2. Nice PDF! Wheather your websites suck or not, you should be keeping track of them. That’s what DomainLAB is here to help with. Check it out! 🙂

  3. Wow, those are seriously scary sites.

    You really gave it to Microsoft, didn’t you 🙂

    Looks like it was a great presentation.

  4. Hi Dev and Miriam,
    Thanks a lot. I enjoyed preparing it, and even enjoyed giving it 🙂

  5. Shira Stepansky

    Debi,

    I just got home from Jerusalem tonight.

    I made a bee line to your lecture & definitely rewarded for it. WOW! I can’t believe you were one of the fill-ins.

    Informative, useful AND entertaining. You should be speaking more if you can whip such an organized speech together on that kind of notice.

    I have a checklist I use for sites I create, but now I have a few more items to add. Thanks!

  6. Nice presentation but you got some things wrong. I refer to slide No. 17: Web Pages are not just a graphic wonder to be looked at – they serve a special purpose. And slide 16 is a perfect example: its easy to see that Microsoft is pushing SQL Server (so they dim the rest out and focus on that) – what you called Narrow Focus.

    In general – each page like this should be narrowly focused – why? To get results.

    In many ways – some of the No-nos you write are good just for design but when you combine them with purpose and result required – they don’t always work out as you claim.

  7. Shira – thanks a lot for the compliments! I’m glad that you found the presentation useful.

    Yaeer – thanks for your comments. I was wondering, were you at the presentation? Or did you just read through the presentation? In either case, I think you misunderstood what I meant by “narrow focus” (if you were not at the presentation, then it’s easy to misunderstand). The narrow focus was not with respect to the products that MS are pushing. It was about how they relate to accessibility. Many webmasters know that using “ALT” (alternative text) with images is good for accessibility, so they don’t look for any other accessibility parameters – like colour and brightness contrast.
    And I have a question about the last sentence of your comment “they don’t always work out as you claim” – I didn’t understand what you meant by that. Can you clarify?
    All the best,
    Debi

  8. Pingback: Google de-myths SEO « Debi’Z Blog

Leave a Reply

