5 Tips for Getting your First (SEO) Clients

OK, so you are a newbie to SEO, and you’re looking for clients.

Well, I was there not so long ago (and actually I’m still there, kinda, since I’ve been doing this for just 3 or 4 months).

What are the top 5 tips for getting clients when you’re just starting up? And actually this list goes for other areas, not just SEO. In fact, they have helped me get clients for both parts of my business, SEO and Software Quality Assurance.

  1. Know Your Stuff – make sure you have a really good grounding. There’s a lot out there on the internet, but a lot of it is just too basic for you to be able to convince a customer, let alone do a reasonable job on his site. Some information is incorrect, and some is what in other businesses would be called “shady” or “fishy”, but in SEO is called Black Hat. Personally, I found that a good course put it all in perspective.
  2. Use Your Contacts – most people starting off in SEO have already done something previously with their life. Hopefully, you were good enough, and have enough experience to have made some good impressions here and there. Meet up with your contacts, and tell them what you are doing now. Explain it at the level that they will understand, and let it be clear that you are looking for work in your new field. 70-80% of my new clients have come from contacts.
  3. Network, Network, Network – before turning independent, I didn’t think that I had it in me to “sell myself”, so to speak, but you’d be surprised what you can do if you have to put food on the table!  And when you network, PLEASE remember to bring your business cards!  I was agonizing over “the right logo/brand”, but in the meantime, made myself some colorful (no surprises there!) but business-like cards with my name, phone number, email, and “new” profession. Where to network? There are loads of networking opportunities: local entrepreneur groups, local or national professional and industry groups, conferences, courses, and more. The other 20-30% of my clients have come from networking.
  4. Keep up to date – find the best few blogs in your industry, and read them religiously. Make sure that you know what the Gurus in the industry are saying. If you can, find webinars, videos, conference presentations on-line, and the like.
  5. I know I had a 5th in mind – it’s so nice to be able to write a headline like “the top 5 blah blah blah” – somehow “the top 4 …” doesn’t quite sound the same, but I can’t for the life of me remember it. 

I’ll probably remember it in the middle of the night, or in the shower, or something. Anyway, I’ll add it when I remember.

It would be great if you added your ideas in the comments (but please do it here, please, and not on the SEO blog, until I manage to combine them), and I’ll add them to the list.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing to my RSS Feed, to keep up with all future updates

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

4 responses to “5 Tips for Getting your First (SEO) Clients

  1. Pingback: 100’s of Tips to Increase RSS subscribers « Debi’Z QA blog

  2. Pingback: 100’s of Tips to Increase RSS subscribers « My Weblog

  3. Pingback: It’s Been One Year … « Debi’Z Blog

  4. Pingback: It’s Been One Year … | Debi-Z

Leave a Reply

