Attending International Conferences, one of the perks of being your own Boss

Once upon a time, I was a full-time employee of a big multi-national. I spent 11 years in that company, 10 of them managing groups of test engineers, developers, and quality assurance (process) engineers.

We had a “conference budget” which allowed a small percentage of employees to attend international conferences every year. I was a nice boss, and always tried to send my staff to the international ones, like STAREast and STARWest, EuroSTAR, and the like, while I went to the local ones.

One day I woke up!

Last June, I attended the Better Software Conference in Las Vegas, and I kicked myself all the way home. What an idiot I was. Attending good international conferences was something I should always have allowed myself to do, at least sometimes. But then, there was that dratted conference budget …

So, one of the nice things about being independent, is that I only have to ask 2 people permission to go to International conferences:

  1. My husband, David, who always says “of course, and while you’re about it, why don’t you add a few days and do some sightseeing and shopping” (David is THE world’s best shopper, bar none. I had to drag him away from the shops in Venice, so that we could go and see some historical sights !!)
  2. My daughter’s nanny …

Which is why it may look to you like I’m spending all my time going to conferences.

I’m not, it’s just that 2 conferences in a row, one week (SEETest 2008 in Sofia, Bulgaria) after the other (SIGiST Israel 2008 in Tel Aviv), both with their international speakers, was too much not to take advantage of. [It also didn’t hurt that the SIGiST conference was free, since I was a speaker, and my plane ticket and hotel to Sofia were being paid for, since I was also attending an ISTQB workshop 🙂 ].

So, if you have the chance, take it, and attend as many GOOD International Conferences as you can.

Coming next, some posts about SEETest 2008.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing to my RSS Feed, to keep up with all future updates

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

One response to “Attending International Conferences, one of the perks of being your own Boss

  1. Pingback: How to Write More Test Cases « Debi’Z QA blog

Leave a Reply

